Why I’m adding React Native to my skill set

 

 

More thatn 80% of internet users own a smartphone

Smartphone usage statistics are a clear signal that should push you to develop your next projects and building innovations in mobile field.
After more than seven years of work in the web development environment, I decided to start with development for mobile world.

“Take what is useful and start from there”

As I’m good at HTML/CSS /JS, I leave native technologies for later, and I’m looking for an efficient hybrid tools that will make me productive in a short period of time. Android and iOS are targeted platforms.

I’ve been researching the possibilities… Ionic is not the option and it’s time to make a decision between React Native & Native Script.

React Native WIN!

A more apt comparison might be React Native and NativeScript–both are frameworks that bridge native APIs to JavaScript.

Before choosing React Native, I deeply investigated bridging native and JavaScript on my own and one of the ways was a NativeScript-like approach. I see that React Native has many characteristics I believe are important in a next-gen app framework.

React Native was designed for multicore phones by dividing work across multiple threads, namely application logic (JS), view and text layout (this is significant), and rendering.

Other work like image decoding also runs on a separate thread. One reason React Native’s multithreading is fantastic is because hardware manufacturers are adding more cores faster than they are improving the performance of those cores, partly because power consumption grows superlinearly with respect to frequency.

One more details which makes me happy to chose React Native is that I found that Exponent embrace them. There’s a lot of interest and activity around it and it’s on the right track in several ways.

What you can build

For now, I found that a good use case for React Native can be found in applications that need short time support, for example an app for a one-shot event like a concert or a conference. These kind of apps could also benefit from the fast release cycle available if dynamically loading part of the application logic from a remote server.

Summary

However after two weeks-long investigation I can say that React Native seems to be suitable 100% for apps with simple UI, simple animations, and not long life or performance-critical apps, but It’s change, continuing change day by day!

On the other side we can see that React Native has made incredible progress the past several years. It is being used by a growing number of impressive apps. I expect that list will continue to grow in the years to come and I will be part of it 🙂

It’s exciting to see progress in the ways that apps are being built.

Similarly, React Native gives fantastic benefits of increased productivity without sacrificing the look and feel of the apps we love.

I’ve always been a critic of cross platform frameworks, but React Native has struck a delicate balance that pays out huge dividends. It’s definitely something I’m excited to experiment with in the future and master it ASAP.

Let’s go to code!

Books recommended: link

 

 

Leave a Reply

